Page 1 of 1

echo,or cuotes problem

Posted: Mon May 09, 2011 9:15 am
by ta2shop
hy guys, i am folowing the shoping cart tutorial alex made, and i think becouse of the € sign mi a href links do not work!
loock below, and i folowed the tutorial exactly, but it all went bad when i changed the pound sign for the euro one :)
echo $get_row['name'].' x '.$value.' @ '.number_format($get_row['price'], 2).'€ = '.number_format($sub, 2).'€'.' <a href='cart.php?remove='.$id.''>[-]</a> <a href=''>[+]</a> <a href=''>[Delete]</a><br/>';

Re: echo,or cuotes problem

Posted: Mon May 09, 2011 9:33 am
by EcazS
You have to escape single quotes inside single quotes try this,
echo $get_row['name'].' x '.$value.' @ '.number_format($get_row['price'], 2).'€ = '.number_format($sub, 2).'€'.' <a href=\'cart.php?remove='.$id.'\'>[-]</a> <a href=\'\'>[+]</a> <a href=\'\'>[Delete]</a><br/>';

Re: echo,or cuotes problem

Posted: Mon May 09, 2011 9:35 am
by ta2shop
thanks but its still error, loock:
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '}', expecting ',' or ';' in C:\xampp\htdocs\trabajos\shopping_cart_tutorial\cart.php on line 39

Re: echo,or cuotes problem

Posted: Mon May 09, 2011 9:37 am
by EcazS
ta2shop wrote:thanks but its still error, loock:
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '}', expecting ',' or ';' in C:\xampp\htdocs\trabajos\shopping_cart_tutorial\cart.php on line 39
Can you post the full code?

Re: echo,or cuotes problem

Posted: Mon May 09, 2011 9:42 am
by ta2shop
yep :)
<?php
session_start();

$page = "index.php";

mysql_connect("localhost","root","") or die(mysql_error());
mysql_select_db("ta2cart") or die(mysql_error());

if(isset($_GET['add'])) {
	$quantity = mysql_query('SELECT id, quantity FROM products WHERE id='.mysql_real_escape_string((int)$_GET['add'])) or die(mysql_error());
	while($quantity_row = mysql_fetch_assoc($quantity)) {
		if($quantity_row['quantity']!=$_SESSION['cart_'.(int)$_GET['add']]) {
			$_SESSION['cart_'.(int)$_GET['add']]+='1';
		}
	}
}

function products() {
	$get = mysql_query('SELECT id, name, description, price FROM products WHERE quantity > 0 ORDER BY id DESC') or die(mysql_error());
	if(mysql_num_rows($get)==0) {
		echo "There are no products to display!";
	}
	else {
		while($get_row = mysql_fetch_assoc($get)) {
			echo'<p><b>'.$get_row['name'].'</b><br/>'.$get_row['description'].'<br/>'.number_format($get_row['price'],2).'€ <a href="cart.php?add='.$get_row['id'].'">Add</a><p/>';
		}
	}
}

function cart() {
	foreach($_SESSION as $name => $value) {
		if($value>0) {
			if(substr($name, 0, 5)=='cart_') {
				$id = substr($name, 5, (strlen($name)-5));
				$get = mysql_query('SELECT id, name, price FROM products WHERE id='.mysql_real_escape_string((int)$id));
				while($get_row = mysql_fetch_assoc($get)) {
					$sub = $get_row['price']*$value;
					echo $get_row['name'].' x '.$value.' @ '.number_format($get_row['price'], 2).'€ = '.number_format($sub, 2).'€'.' <a href=\'cart.php?remove='.$id.'\'>[-]</a> <a href=\'\'>[+]</a> <a href=\'\'>[Delete]</a><br/>'
				}
			}
		}
		else {
			echo "Your cart is empty.";
		}
	}
}


?>
it is form alex's tutorial about the mini shopping cart.

Re: echo,or cuotes problem

Posted: Mon May 09, 2011 9:48 am
by EcazS
Missing semi-colon at this line, just add one ;)
echo $get_row['name'].' x '.$value.' @ '.number_format($get_row['price'], 2).'€ = '.number_format($sub, 2).'€'.' <a href=\'cart.php?remove='.$id.'\'>[-]</a> <a href=\'\'>[+]</a> <a href=\'\'>[Delete]</a><br/>'

Re: echo,or cuotes problem

Posted: Mon May 09, 2011 9:50 am
by GenSwat
LOL I was lost thought he was talking about
html_entity_decode('&#8364', ENT_QUOTES, 'ISO-8859-15');

can you use str_replace() to change symbol

Re: echo,or cuotes problem

Posted: Mon May 09, 2011 9:51 am
by ta2shop
no, it still prints the same error!
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '}', expecting ',' or ';' in C:\xampp\htdocs\trabajos\shopping_cart_tutorial\cart.php on line 39

Re: echo,or cuotes problem

Posted: Mon May 09, 2011 9:58 am
by GenSwat
maybe you need to convert the symbol?

try looking here, you said after you used euro symbol

http://php.net/manual/en/function.mb-co ... coding.php

Re: echo,or cuotes problem

Posted: Mon May 09, 2011 9:59 am
by ta2shop
no actualy EcazS is right!!! :) i forgot about the closing ; semicolon! :lol:
somtimes i am soooo stupid! :D

Re: echo,or cuotes problem

Posted: Mon May 09, 2011 5:22 pm
by GenSwat
LOL, I can't tell you how long I've look at one line and the answer was right in front my face either '," or ; missing..