Page 1 of 1

Can a value in an array have a label that isnt its value?

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 4:40 pm
by gundofox
Hi,

I have just followed the Minecraft Server Status tutorial and it is all working as expected, (great videos - I have never used php before and yet I have managed to just about fudge through this afternoon with lots of rewinding/replaying of the video) however Ive now got a tiny little problem I hope you/someone may be able to help with...

My webserver is on a linux server on my own network, therefore when the server status page checks my own minecraft server using its local address all is well and it shows as online like it should. But, if I change its array value to my dyndns url then the server shows as offline as expected.

Is there a way to make the value of my server in the array its local ip address whilst giving it a label that is displayed in the html table that is the URL that the rest of the world would use?

Ive tried checking the syntax page on php.net, but couldnt seem to see anything that would help here, but then again like I said, I am literally only hours into my php experience!

Cheers,
Mark

Re: Can a value in an array have a label that isnt its value

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 5:52 pm
by jacek
You would have to change the structure of the code a bit to do that, adding another element to the array that contains the displayname would be easiest.

Can you post the code ?

Re: Can a value in an array have a label that isnt its value

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 6:07 pm
by gundofox
Hiya, thanks for the reply so soon.

Here is my init.inc.php :
<?php

$servers = array(
	array('collinsworld.ath.cx', '25565'),
	array('172.16.0.79', '25565'),
);

error_reporting(0);

//$path = dirname(___FILE___);

include('minecraft_server.inc.php');
?>
I basically want the 2nd array to use 172.16.0.79 as the actual value, but have it display gundofox.dyndns.org in the table on the webpage.

I was thinking I could try and amend it to not use a loop and do it all longhand, but if theres a display name feature that would be great.

Thanks a lot,
Mark

Re: Can a value in an array have a label that isnt its value

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 6:09 pm
by gundofox
Also, not sure if you would want to see this bit aswell from the status.php :
<tbody>
				<?php

				foreach ($servers as $server){
					$online = server_online($server[0], $server[1]);

					?>	
					<tr>	
						<td><?php echo $server[0], ':', $server[1]; ?></td>
						<td class="<?php echo ($online) ? 'online' : 'offline'; ?>"><?php echo ($online) ? 'Online' : 'Offline'; ?></td>
					</tr>
					<?php
					}
					?>
			</tbody>
Thanks!
Mark

Re: Can a value in an array have a label that isnt its value

Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 8:55 am
by gundofox
Morning...

Im not sure why I didnt realise this at first... just re-read your reply about using an extra element and Ive sorted it now.
I just added a 3rd value which was the URL ([2]) and left the $online variable to use elements [0] & [1] but then used [2] & [1] for the actual table values. This has worked a treat!

Thanks a lot again,

Mark

Re: Can a value in an array have a label that isnt its value

Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 10:59 am
by jacek
gundofox wrote:Im not sure why I didnt realise this at first... just re-read your reply about using an extra element and Ive sorted it now.
I just added a 3rd value which was the URL ([2]) and left the $online variable to use elements [0] & [1] but then used [2] & [1] for the actual table values. This has worked a treat!
Exactly what I meant, good job :D